Date Coconut Muffins

IMG_4042.JPG

I’ve been traveling around a bit, which is always a shock to my system. As you can guess, I’m a rather homey sort, so when I’m on the road it throws my reliable patterns off. I find that getting right back into my routine is the best thing for me, so this morning I made a batch of my puffed grain granola and baked up these muffins. Muffins, I always say, have gotten an unfairly bad rap. Sad factory muffins are everywhere, and I’m quite sure they are not good for you at all. Homemade muffins, however, are a snap to make, and they can be a real source of comfort and nourishment. Sure, they are little cakes, but when they’re jacked up with coconut and dates they are a treat that you can be proud of.

Date Coconut Muffins

Preheat oven to 350. Makes 12 standard size muffins. Have a greased muffin tin ready.

1 cup all purpose flour

1 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking powder

1/2 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 cup shredded unsweetened coconut

1 cup buttermilk

1 cup deglet dates (or whatever kind), chopped (to make date puree, prepared with 1 cup of water and 1/2 teaspoon baking soda according to notes in recipe)

1/4 cup coconut oil, liquid form

2 small eggs

Mix flours, sugar, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and coconut in a bowl. Make date purée: heat water, chopped dates and baking soda and cook at a simmer until dates are soft. (Apparently, the baking soda is to further the softening of the dates.) The mixture will foam up, so keep an eye on it. Purée the mixture until somewhat smooth. Let it cool. Whisk buttermilk, eggs and liquid coconut oil together. You may substitute vegetable oil but the flavor is better with coconut. Make sure to heat the coconut oil gently if it’s still solid. Stir this into the dry mixture. Then add the date purée. Incorporate thoroughly but don’t over beat. Pour into a standard 12-cup muffin tin that is well greased. Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes. Let sit in pan for about five minutes, then remove to cool on a rack.

6 thoughts on “Date Coconut Muffins”

  1. These sound GREAT! I love the idea of a date puree to sweeten; yum. I assume I should just use one of our (pretty big) farm eggs instead of two. Sound about right? I mean, I’m sure it’s fine either way, but…

    1. I think you’re right–it’s a fairly liquid batter, so I would err on the side of less egg than more. There is sugar too–but even with the dates I think these are not overly sweet. My kid approves!

      1. One egg was perfect. And, as per your quantity suggestion I used just a little over a cup of banana (two large). My buttermilk was bad, so I used yogurt & milk. The other tweaks to use stuff up and go all-in on the tropical theme were: toasted unsw coconut (left from making Samoas), chopped dried pineapple & the last of a bag of sweetened dried green mango (both which have been in my cupboard FOREVER). Everything fit just right in the 12 cups (again, thanks for stopping me from using two cups of banana, lol) and they are super tasty. I like that they aren’t BANANA muffins…the banana is really subtle and more of a sweetener/background flavor, which is a great change up from my usual gotta-use-up-the-dying-bananas muffins & breads. Thanks again for the great recipe and your advice on the changes. 🙂

      2. I love the tropical theme! And you know, I almost didn’t do that measurement but I was curious so I did. And it ends up, there was a use to that! I will add that to the recipe. So glad that you liked them, and for all the feed back! Thanks!

  2. these sound wonderful. I am gonna make a batch.

    On Mon, Apr 3, 2017 at 10:31 AM, The Preserved Life wrote:

    > Julia Sforza posted: ” I’ve been traveling around a bit, which is always a > shock to my system. As you can guess, I’m a rather homey sort, so when I’m > on the road it throws my reliable patterns off. I find that getting > right back into my routine is the best thing for me, so th” >

Leave a Reply

