Brown Rice Pancakes

IMG_3160.JPG

I usually have a container of cooked rice in the fridge. I always make sure to cook enough to have extra on hand. Last week I had both brown and white rice in the fridge, and I was at a loss for what to do with the brown rice. I knew the white rice would be kimchi fried rice. But the brown rice? I eat so much brown rice that I think I had fallen into a rut with it. I hit the cookbooks for ideas. A brown rice casserole is always nice, a pie crust using brown rice is also clever. How about a cooked grain cake? Then I stumbled upon a cooked grain pancake from Mark Bittman’s How to Cook Everything. It was a revelation, a moment where you are like: of course! The perfect Meatless Monday dish. Easy to quickly put together, if you have your rice cooked already. I served it with a salad and a little spicy tomato jam. I think this would be great at any time though—a savory breakfast item par exellence.

Brown Rice Pancakes

1.5 cups of cooked rice (white or brown)

2 eggs

½ cup milk

½ cup parmesan cheese

½ cup all purpose flour

½ teaspoon baking powder

I put the ingredients in this order because I like seeing all the ½ cups—it makes it easy to remember so you don’t have to look at a recipe. It’s a common sense recipe—whisk up the eggs and milk, add the rice and cheese, then stir in the flour and baking powder. Use a good amount of shimmering hot oil to cook them up in. Use about a ½ cup of mixture for each cake. You will see in the edges puff up and lose moisture, you can peek at the underside to see how brown it is. I find these easier to cook than regular pancakes.

Other food notes for this week:

My favorite episode of Chef’s Table (on Netflix) so far has been the one on Jeong Kwan. Her devotion struck me deeply. The idea of temple food also hit a chord. Food made daily with utmost respect for its nourishment and love. I think this is why people are so in love with “grandma” cooking. Because it’s cooking that is devotional, meditative, done every day with love. It has years of practice behind it, and that practice imbues the food with a certain kind of goodness that can’t be replicated any other way. Practice is like prayer. It’s what I aspire to in my cooking. I think I’ll watch it again.

11 thoughts on “Brown Rice Pancakes”

  1. great idea! I’d also like to know what you put in your kimchi fried rice 🙂

    On Mon, Mar 6, 2017 at 9:15 AM, The Preserved Life wrote:

    > Julia Sforza posted: ” I usually have a container of cooked rice in the > fridge. I always make sure to cook enough to have extra on hand. Last week > I had both brown and white rice in the fridge, and I was at a loss for what > to do with the brown rice. I knew the white rice woul” >

    1. Oh man, it was so good! Just a chopped onion sautéed, then chopped kimchi and some of the brine, add the rice (used about 2 cups), soy sauce and sesame oil to taste, served with fried eggs.

  2. Julia: I might have noted (just for beginners) that you add “pre-mixed dry ingredients” to the liquids — ’cause I know how I’d’ve executed the recipe as a starting cook.

    1. Hi David! Thanks for reading and with such an eagle eye! You know what’s funny? Even the original recipe didn’t say mix them together first! I did hesitate when writing it, but I do figure people who come here have some cooking knowledge. Although, it’s certainly a simple enough edit for those who may be new to cooking. I’ll have to also admit this: I’ve made this recipe by sprinkling the baking powder over the mixture and then adding in the flour, so not premixing will certainly not be a disaster!

Leave a Reply

