Apricot Almond Tart

IMG_3900

Soon all the summer fruits will have had their fifteen minutes. Strawberries seem like forever ago! All you have to do is go away for a week, and you’ve missed something. I almost missed the elderberries this year, but luckily I now have portions of it’s intensely colored juice mixed with honey from my neighbor’s bees to stave off winter viruses. (The coming winter is predicted to be more of the same as last year. Shiver!)

One of my very favorite fruits to make jam out of is apricots, and I was gone right when they were at their peak. So when I returned, I was on a mission to find the last of this precious bounty! I called a few places I know of to no avail. Finally, I found some! It was the very last case of the very last apricots, probably about 18 pounds of them. I made two large batches of jam for Half-Pint Preserves. My son must have eaten about five pounds all by himself. And the last few I made into this tart. It is incredibly good.

IMG_3707

The original recipe is nothing short of genius. Lazy person that I am, I wanted a tart but didn’t want to make a pie crust. I searched around and found this brilliant recipe for plum almond crustless tart from Kitchen Vignettes. I take no credit for this very easy and very delicious recipe. I only tweaked it a little.  I’ll be making it again soon with plums, but I think I may add a sprinkle of cinnamon so it’s a bit like a German plum kuchen. It works as breakfast with a spoonful of Greek yogurt, but also is an elegant dessert.

Apricot Almond Tart

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Have ready an 11-inch tart pan with a removable bottom, greased well.

2 cups almond flour (or start with raw almonds–about 1 1/2 cups should yield 2 cups flour)

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup butter

1/4 cup whole wheat flour

1 teaspoon almond extract

2 eggs

1 pound of apricots, pitted and halved

(Optional: 1 tablespoon of sugar to sprinkle on top before baking)

You can use a food processor for this entire recipe. First put the almonds in to finely grind them into flour. Then add the butter and sugar to cream well. Add the flour, the extract and the eggs, pulsing after each addition. Spread batter into pan. Push each fruit half into the batter leaving room between each piece. The pieces can be up or down, or both. Sprinkle with sugar. Bake for 45 minutes.

IMG_3901

8 thoughts on “Apricot Almond Tart”

  1. I have been picking elderberries with my wife for the last three weeks. It looks as if it will continue until mid September before we strip the bushes bare of ripe goodness. I just finished my first run of elderberry jam. The eight pint jars are now cooling as I type this.

    I sanitized all except the jar lids in a 250 degree oven. I placed a large oval stainless turkey roaster on the lowest rack and filled it with boiling water. I placed my filled jars in a high-walled baking sheet and baked them for circa 40 minutes. When I removed them from the oven to an elderberry colored bath towel, I could see the jam bubbling merrily in each jar. I had tightened the rings on the lid just tight enough that the jam was in a somewhat mini pressure cooker in each pint jar. My oven thermometer read spot on at 250 degrees. So, even though I did not measure the temperature of the jam in one of the jars, I am relatively confident I exceeded an internal temperature of 212 degrees.

    1. Lucky you to still be picking elderberries! I do love elderberry jam. Good for you for making so much. Ahhh.

      I can’t help but to add that your routine is more work than you really need. It would be much easier for you to just put them in a boiling water bath for ten minutes. Less energy spent too!

  2. The reason for the protracted “baking” of my jars of elderberry jam is that I live in Colorado at an elevation of circa 6,700 feet ASL. Water boils at considerably lower temperature. The whole reason for oven canning is to overcome our lower boiling temperature. I never fail to get a good vacuum on all the canning lids this way too.

    1. I see! I have to say, you can still save time, if you want. The oven canning method in the Blue Chair Cookbook is the one I use and it’s easier. It’s also a beauty of a jam book. Maybe see if your library has it? Worth the look!

Leave a Reply

