Winter Update

IMG_0087

February has been unusually cruel this winter. I wonder how it is by you? We have two feet of snow, piles of ice and sub-zero temperatures. This morning I woke to see the thermometer read -12. That’s just silly. We don’t usually have temperatures like that in the Hudson Valley, so when I see that I feel very alarmed. Did you see this map from the Washington Post? About how the eastern U.S. is the coldest place in the world? So, yeah, it’s cold.

Oddly, I really don’t have any desire to cook right about now, so that’s why I haven’t posted anything lately. I’m just not that kind of blogger. I’ve tried, but when I’m not motivated by something that excites me, I just feel like: why bother? Lately I’ve been drinking a lot of detox tea (so exciting!! …not), fresh citrus juice (those piles of citrus don’t motivate anymore, but a big glass of grapefruit-clementine juice hits. the. spot.) and chocolate pudding (you have to live a little, right?). Also lots of rice bowls, see above. I keep my pressure-cooked short-grain brown rice in the fridge for when lunch time comes a calling. I put various things on top: scrambled eggs cut in strips, avocado, cucumber, scallion, grated carrot, pickled ginger, sesame seeds, togarashi, hot sauces, sesame oil, tamari, etc. It always makes me feel satiated in such a good way.

I’ve also been reading a lot–going back to cookbooks, organizing my canning shelves, making notes on what worked and what didn’t, planning for next year’s garden, dreaming about my little green wrought-iron bench that’s buried in snow. And I’m getting ready for a preserving class I’m holding on May 2nd. I’m trying to remind myself to take advantage of this down time.

Here’s some other things inspiring me lately:

This book, Dawns and Dusks, that features taped interviews with sculptor Louise Nevelson. It can be a little rambling, but it’s intimate tone is fascinating.

I love Brain Pickings, don’t you? I’ve been holding onto this one, Anton Chekhov on the 8 Qualities of Cultured People. Also, I wasn’t aware of how handsome Mr. Chekhov was.

Spring cleaning is already bubbling up in me. I sort of want to get rid of everything. Or is that mid-winter crazy-pants disorder (MWCP)? I don’t know, but I like this article titled Abundance Without Attachment.

Let’s think warm thoughts, and look forward to March 20th, shall we? That’s the first day of spring or vernal equinox, which also boasts a full solar eclipse. Truly, we have much to look forward to!

8 thoughts on “Winter Update”

  1. First of all, I am so with you on the handsomeness factor of Anton. 🙂 Joking aside, that book sounds very interesting. I will have to look for it at the library. I actually have five consecutive days off coming up, and, like you, I have to remind myself to take advantage of the “down time” and use it wisely, not pining after what I don’t have right now {spring, warmth, a garden…}.

    I have also lost my inspiration to use my citrus in creative ways. No more crazy preserves or ornate desserts – just simple juicing is equally as gratifying.

    Congrats on your upcoming preservation class! If I lived closer, I’d go. You’ll have to post photos and share some highlights from the class. Good luck!

  2. I, too, get happily lost in Brain Pickings. It’s put me on to a lot of great things to read. Here, we are warm and dry and it would be wonderful if not for knowing how wrong it is. We need rain like you need thawing out. Also, has this been a particularly difficult cold and flu season? Sure feels like that here (cough, sniffle, cough) . . . your beautiful rice bowl is inspiring me to get up off the couch and forage in the kitchen for some kind of nourishing lunch to speed the healing. I can look forward to that!

    1. I wish I could make something nice for you to eat, Shae! I’m so sorry you’ve been sick.

      What’s going on with your weather is certainly just as bad. I get scared when I see how bad CA has it. Maybe we should move to Vashon?

Leave a Reply

