On Being Prepared

IMG_9224

With the impending holidays, instead of joy, I begin to feel in my heart a little seed of anxiety. As the days go by, I know it will grow. I’m an anxiety-prone person, I will admit. Worry, worry, worry! I have a deep furrow between my eyebrows that some will point to and tsk at: you’re making wrinkles! I’ve had the knit-brow wrinkle long before wrinkles started knocking on my doorstep. With all this worry, I try to spearhead it by being prepared. As I write this I am making dinner. It’s 1:30 p.m. Prepared!

When I was a teenager I had a job at a restaurant and catering company. I was a prep cook (and server) and come the holidays I practically lived in the low-ceilinged cement basement below the restaurant. I had lists of things to prep: huge amounts of crudités,  tons of frozen shrimp to peel, dips to puree and chicken tenders to deep fry. We made many pies, roasted many hams, and I think I may have sliced thousands of loaves of bread. Perhaps the fear and anxiety started there: I would stand by waiting for orders as my bosses fretted over yellow legal pads filled with endless scribbled lists.

My catering days are over, thankfully, but the prepping is not. These days, I’m preparing for the holidays by having food prepped. Not for the holiday feasts, but for the busy days that seem to fly by before the big days. For those lunches and dinners when you are so hungry that you will easily eat something unhealthy just to have a quick meal. My biggest downfalls: grilled cheese sandwiches and bowls of pasta.

The easiest plan is to have a large pot of brown rice made in the beginning of the week.  Rice can be breakfast, lunch or dinner.  Sweet or savory. Two favorites for breakfast: an egg on top, with avocado and kimchi, or pudding style, pureed with milk and maple syrup. There are numerous variations. When you get sick of brown rice, I make jasmine coconut rice (substitute some coconut milk or coconut cream to your rice when cooking) and it still goes both ways.

PSA: I recently made brown rice in the pressure cooker. It makes the most delicious brown rice ever. It also doesn’t seem to get hard in the fridge. You may thank me later. 

The other day I made a jar of coconut curry sauce based on this recipe. It used up some coconut cream from making coconut rice. It makes a staple in the fridge, like rice, that much closer to a real meal: just add some vegetables and tofu, see above photo.

Another good thing to have on hand, especially if you have rice on hand: beans. We eat a lot of burritos around here, so black beans and small pintos are a must. Lentils and chickpeas are also favorites. Sprout chickpeas a few days before you cook them in a pressure cooker. When I do this, the beans have this smell that I can only describe as cheesy and umami-rich. It’s the sprouting for sure. It made an amazing chickpea stew, and now there’s hummus in the fridge. So prepared!

These are just a few ideas from this week. What about you?

6 thoughts on “On Being Prepared”

  1. Love this. You would be the ultimate post-apocalyptic ally! Your suggestions for healthy and fortifying “interim” meals are great. I also like to have fresh salads of sprouts and grated or thinly sliced vegetables – cabbage, carrot, kohlrabi – at this time of year.

    1. I actually thought of you when I was writing this, Laura. You are one of those people who inspires me to take care of myself!

      I have been dreaming of apple-fennel-celeriac slaw. I love kohlrabi. And I could live on those little white Japanese hakurei turnips. Lots of crunch!

  2. And I thought I was the only one who did the funny rice pudding thing. I mash up brown rice, banana, a dollop of nut butter, and spices. I also like to put fruit or jam on top. That’s been my breakfast almost every day for months. We use our rice cooker and try to keep big batches on hand.

    Another thing we have in common is the crimped brow. :-/

    1. Shae- I’ve been using the rice cooker for years, and I love it. But the pressure cooker just changed the game for me. And the pudding: yum. I actually put it in the Vitamix, and it’s so creamy. I will put some nut butter in next time.

      Yes, the brow. I’m not surprised!

Leave a Reply

