Pickled Figs

IMG_7966

Hello! I am back from the deep with renewed energy. Today is the first day of school in our parts, and it is a lucky thing because my porch is groaning with fruits and vegetables. Canning with a six-year old only goes so far. It’s much easier doing it solo. Unless I want to can some Legos in a light syrup.

I have lots of experiments to bring to the table, but this one stands out. It felt important to share right away because for some people, it is fig season. If, like me, all of your fig trees tragically died last winter, maybe you need to buy some figs. Lots of New York fig growers had problems last winter, says this article from the NY Times. So sad!

IMG_7963

I was lucky enough to find these organic figs for sale at my local grocery store. I riffed off of a recipe from Linda Ziedrich for spiced cherries (see link for one of my favorite books). I think these figs are wonderful with a soft, creamy, nutty cheese–like Kunik from Nettle Meadow. These are also incredible in a salad, all you need is a drizzle of olive oil. The syrup the figs make an amazing drink added to some seltzer.

Pickled Figs

Yield: One Pint

This is a refrigerator pickle–no canning required.

Black Mission Figs (I think any fig will do, but the color they made the syrup is gorgeous)

About 1 cup of white wine vinegar

1/2 cup sugar

1/3 cup rosé wine (or white or red)

a goodly slice of lemon peel

half a bay leaf, crumbled a little

a good pinch of fennel seeds, about 1/4 teaspoon or less

Stuff your figs in a jar, whole. Cover them with the vinegar–you may have to use more or less than specified above. Screw on a lid, and let sit at room temperature overnight (8 to 12 hours).

The next day, drain the vinegar from the figs into a pan. Add the rest of the ingredients and bring to a boil to dissolve the sugar. Let the syrup simmer for fifteen minutes so the flavors meld. Turn off the heat and let the syrup cool.

When cool, pour the syrup over the figs (still in the jar) and screw on the lid. Let them stand at room temperature, in a cool dark spot, for 2 to 3 days. Then return to the fridge to sit, for a few weeks, up to a month before eating.

IMG_8305

14 thoughts on “Pickled Figs”

      1. Fraid not! I decided that I would only blog with an open heart and have since become very lazy. But my little blue book of developed recipes is now several volumes thick. I need to pull the last few years work together into a book.

  1. I guess I’m a lucky one. Our fig tree has faithfully produced a lot of finger licking fruits year after year!. I will be making this recipe PRONTO. One question: do I need to cut the figs or do I pickle them whole?

Leave a Reply

