Rhubarb

IMG_6493

When the rhubarb starts to roll in, I know that summer is not far off. It’s only another week until the strawberries start to ripen–they’ve already formed but are still green right now–and then June hits and boom, it’s summer. But I’m getting ahead of myself! Honestly, I’m in no rush for summer. I love late spring. T-shirt weather begins, all the shades of green wink at you, and standing outside on the porch at night is a magical feeling.

Rhubarb starts it all. Even though I grow my own, it’s just not enough. Yesterday I picked up twenty pounds of beautiful organic rhubarb to make some jam to sell, and of course, so I can indulge in all the things I want to make for myself!

I make this rhubarb custard pie every year. It’s my hands-down favorite. I just noticed for the first time that this recipe was written by David Karp. I’m fascinated by him. Look him up if you like fruit! There’s a great article on him in the New Yorker.

And this rhubarb mostarda is another favorite.

IMG_6526

I am definitely roasting some rhubarb but might take this twist on it from Molly Wizenberg, who uses white wine.

Usually, I make rhubarb syrup with all the chopped off ends. Because you are putting it through a sieve, it’s a good use for these end bits. But this year, I’m putting half of it in a jar with some apple cider vinegar. Rhubarb vinegar. Perchance to be a rhubarb shrub? Only time will tell. Any rhubarb dreams by you?

IMG_6529

14 thoughts on “Rhubarb”

  1. I like to use the left over pieces to make a rhubarb-cello. I soak them in a nice vodka until I remember to strain it and add my simple syrup. My rhubarb plants are too young yet to harvest much so I need to be out hunting rhubarb this weekend to get started on rhubarb preserving.

  2. Julia………….so good to see your thoughts on rhubarb. I’m literally in my kitchen this minute with a mountain of rhubarb before me and trying out roasting the stuff ahead of time with freshly-grated ginger, brown sugar, a bit of salt and balsamic vinegar. I’ll add toasted pecan bits later, I think. Not sure if this will serve; I need to experiment a bit more.

    Normally I’ve combined the grated ginger, brown sugar and toasted pecans together and used this as a bed on my tart shells for the sugared-overnight-but uncooked rhubarb sticks.

    I’ll see how it goes.

    Regards,
    Kate
    The Art of the Tart.

    1. Kate! So glad to hear you are back in your own kitchen. I hope it feels good. I’m sure there are many people scrambling to have a piece of that rhubarb tart.

      We have to get together soon!

  3. I’m going to try making rhubarb curd this season…after the jam, the syrup and the mostarda, of course!

  4. That pie sounds amazing. David Karp’s life = wow! There is much to be done in life. It just takes mistakes, time, persistence, and quirky obsessions. I tried Molly’s roasted rhubarb, but I used some of Erik’s port and red wine. I covered it with thyme and sugar. So delicious and decadent. I used some of the liquid to make a NY sour. I call it the Upstate Sour. So easy to make. -M // PS – so jealous of your rhubarb haul!

    1. So much to do, right Michele? I often get overwhelmed by all the things I want to do.

      Upstate sour sounds amazing! My roasted rhubarb was very tart! It would be great as a drink. But it was equally good with a dose of heavy cream over it.

  5. I’m with you on David Karp – and, of course, on rhubarb! My spicy rhubarb chutney is an annual tradition and I, too, love rhubarb curd. It’s also delicious simply roasted with orange zest and slathered with whipped cream for Pavlova. And then there’s my strawberry-rhubarb single crust sheet pie—to DIE for…xoxo

    1. Laura, did you read The Fruit Hunters? That was a great read. I wanted it to be longer.

      So, sheet pie has be haunting me for years now! I have got to make it. I like that yours is single crust; I’m always so daunted by making so much pastry. I’m lazy! xx

    1. Thank you so much! Now I have to go and be enthralled by your work! Rhubarb and gooseberries and rose hip syrup–it all sounds incredible. I was just noting the size of the rose hips on the beach today. It will be soon…

  6. My mother always used to put an egg in her rhubarb pie. She claimed that it eliminated that funny furry taste you get from the calcium oxalate (although she didn’t put it that way exactly). So I normally think of rhubarb pie with eggs in it. I think I am going to save some of my frozen raspberries to make rhubarb raspberry pie/tart. Hopefully I will have enough rhubarb this year.

Leave a Reply

