The Perennial Bed

IMG_5709

Last week, I ventured out into the garden. It was still there.

I raked out my favorite bed: the perennials. It’s a sunny patch that is home to the asparagus, strawberries and rhubarb. I left it in horrible disarray in the fall. The strawberry bed was unfairly filled with weeds. I always leave the full grown asparagus for wildlife refuge, waiting until early spring to cut down the stalks, so it was a tangle of fern and stalk. And the rhubarb was left to die back to their roots. I am usually really finished at the end of the growing season, and this year was no different. I made no effort to tidy things up. It showed as I raked the beds the other day.

Amazingly, after raking up the detritus, I found green living things underneath! The strawberries are such hardy little things–I don’t even know what variety they are, as a neighbor passed me a boxful of them long ago, happy to get their little runners off her hands. They are not the sweetest strawberries, but dang if they’re not the hardiest. This year I decided to buy some Honeoye strawberries to start a new bed. Who can deny the strawberry? I am always happy to spend a few minutes in the garden and come out with a bowl full of strawberries. Let’s hope that happens this year!

2 thoughts on “The Perennial Bed”

Leave a Reply

