Onigiri

IMG_5086

Last week I made vegetable sushi for dinner. A new and inspired filling I discovered was  bok choy which I sautéed with ginger, garlic and soy. I guess I was hungry so I made an extra large batch of sushi rice. After we were done, and so full, there was a lot of rice left over. Now, the world over will tell you to throw out leftover sushi rice. That is utter crazy talk, in my opinion. I’m here to tell you that throwing out sushi rice is not necessary.

I made onigiri (rice balls) by tossing the rice with sesame seeds and a bag of those Trader Joe’s Seaweed Snacks all chopped up with a scissor. I saved some wrapped in the fridge for the next day. Heated up a touch, they were fine with a little soy and sweet chili sauce. I also froze them, wrapping them individually (which was wasteful, and sort of a pain), and again they were just fine, heated up a little, if maybe a touch more crumbly.

I love this Onigiri FAQ.

Next time I make extra, I will make these crackers.

Leave a Reply

