Frozen Yogurt with Boozy Figs

IMG_5073

I don’t want to forget this one! I’ve been on a bit of a frozen goodies tear, because according to my son, the winter is the best time for ice cream! I’m sure he’ll say the same thing in summer, but I’m going with it. We made raspberry sorbet for Valentine’s Day–he’s more of a fruit-loving kid than a chocolate one (the apple doesn’t fall too far from the tree). But this one here was just for me. And what’s best about this dessert is that it came together with leftovers.

The figs: There were some dried figs that I had been meaning to use for a long time, so I soaked them in some hot water for about thirty minutes, before draining them and then covering them in a mixture of bourbon and nut liqueur (Pisa, a mixed nut liqueur). I picked these two liquors because they were taking up valuable real estate in the liquor cabinet, with only a finger or two of booze left in them.

The yogurt: Lately, I’ve been putting cream in my yogurt; say a fifth of the milk gets replaced by cream. The last batch I put a touch too much, making the mistake of using a carton of cream up. What could be wrong with yogurt that’s too creamy? Well, it ended up being a bit too rich for breakfast, but not for dessert. I thought it would be perfect for frozen yogurt.

The details: 

1 1/2 cups of full fat yogurt

1/2 cup of milk

1/2 cup superfine sugar

some boozy dried figs, about a 1/4 cup, drained of the booze and chopped

1 teaspoon of vanilla

1 teaspoon of the bourbon/liqueur mixture

1/2 teaspoon of almond extract

Mix the (very cold) ingredients gently. Put in an ice cream machine and run for 20 to 30 minutes. I found that this stayed a perfect texture after being frozen, I’m guessing due to the alcohol.

The side benefit? The leftover bourbon/nut liqueur mixture is a great nightcap to sip by the fire. Happy weekend!

IMG_5076

4 thoughts on “Frozen Yogurt with Boozy Figs”

  1. I love this idea. I soak fresh figs in brandy every summer and pluck them out for any damn reason all winter long. I think the nut liqueur is INSPIRED and will def. change up my recipe this summer. As for ice cream in winter? Well, yes. Yes. Yes.

    1. And I love yours. Why wait until my dried figs get all crystallized? I’ll have to try the fresh figs in brandy sometime. The nut liqueur was a fluke, but a good one. I’ve been using it a lot with fruit!

Leave a Reply

